
10-DAY NOTICE 
Given Pursuant to Iowa Code §714.1(6) 

 
DATE:      

Certified Mail No.:        

Sheriff’s Service:        

TO:              

ADDRESS:             

RE: IOWA THEFT LAW 

Dear      : 

 You are hereby notified that the         Bank of    

        has refused payment of the following check: 

Check #:      Date:       

Pay to the Order of:         $      

           Dollars 

       /s/        

 
THIS letter is your Notice. If you have not paid this check to the holder within ten (10) days, you may be subject to 
prosecution and the Court or the jury may infer that you knew the check would not be paid. 
 

PENALTIES FOR THIS CRIME 
 
FIRST DEGREE THEFT (Check over $10,000.00) is a Class “C” Felony – up to ten (10) years imprisonment and 
a fine up to $10,000.00, plus 35% surcharge and $125.00 Law Enforcement Initiative surcharge. 
 
SECOND DEGREE THEFT (Check over $1,000.00) is a Class “D” Felony – up to five (5) years imprisonment 
and/or a fine up to $7,500.00 plus 35% surcharge and $125.00 Law Enforcement Initiative surcharge. 
 
THIRD DEGREE THEFT (Check over $500.00) is an Aggravated Misdemeanor – up to two (2) years 
imprisonment and/or a fine up to $6,250.00, plus 35% surcharge and $125.00 Law Enforcement Initiative 
surcharge. 
 
FOURTH DEGREE THEFT (Check over $200.00) is a Serious Misdemeanor - up to one (1) year imprisonment 
and/or a fine up to $1,875.00, plus 35% surcharge and $125.00 Law Enforcement Initiative surcharge. 
 
FIFTH DEGREE THEFT (Check less than $200.00) is a Simple Misdemeanor - imprisonment up to thirty (30) 
days and/or a fine not to exceed $625.00, plus 35% surcharge and $125.00 Law Enforcement Initiative surcharge. 
 
Any person who passes a check knowing that it will not be paid when presented is subject to the full penalty upon 
conviction under Iowa Law. Your refusal to pay off this check, in full, within ten (10) days after receiving this 
Notice shall be considered to be proof to be used against you. 
 
YOU must pay the full amount of this check to:          
              
 
If you have not paid this check within ten (10) days, this matter will be turned over to the Sioux County Attorney’s 
Office for consideration for criminal prosecution. 
 
Notice sent by:              


